Knights of Glory and Beer

Serving the online community since 1997

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#24673 - 12/30/07 11:26 PM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Derid]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
syev Offline
KGB Paladin
syev  Offline
KGB Paladin
*****

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
PA
Quote:


XP 64 pro.

Vista is bullshit.

DX10 is ass.

If you HAVE to get Vista, get Ultimate or the top tier business version, otherwise MS will be telling you what you can and cannot run on your machine when their media buddies dislike something.




Agreed. Each of the following I maintain on a 24/7 basis. ~'XPx64Pro' 'windows 2003 x64 enterprise' 'FreeBSD' 'PFsense'(atm) and 'ubuntu7.1'~. Also I would like to mention my appreciation for VMware as I test "bandwagon OS's" when possible.


Quote:

Hey if a couple UI tweaks make it more comfortable for you and worth it, great. Its your cash.

Getting a barebones no-OS new machine IS cheaper though, use that money for XP if the OEM of your choice isnt offering it. SATA drivers are included in install on XP64
so all you basically have to do is pop in the CD, and then hit the websites of your hardware providers to get new drivers- which you should be doing with any new machine anyhow regardless of OS.

To me the UI look/feel is nothing important. Linux UI/Desktop and management is actualy far above and beyond any MS OS these days. But, Linux wont run AoC/Steam/Ect easily or well, so I don't use it as primary OS.




Again I agree. I have found Ubuntu w/Beryl the 3d desktop to be the ultimate management platform years to maybe a decade ahead of Microsoft's retarded children.

I thought a link would be amusing..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVD7pj8iaR4&feature=related
another?! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_cFq2EZTwA&feature=related

#24674 - 12/31/07 01:04 AM Re: Vista or XP [Re: syev]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 258
Leverett Offline
Former KGB Member
Leverett  Offline
Former KGB Member
*****

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 258
Boulder, Colorado
I'd add that if you buy a out-of-the-box system and sticking with OEM parts, Vista isn't too bad. Aesthetically it does look nice, it will run just fine, plus you're guaranteed .

If I were building my own rig (which I'll be doing soon) I'd personally go with XP64 just to keep the number of headaches down.

That said it's all personal preference and everyone has their anecdotal evidence to support their choice.

#24675 - 12/31/07 07:44 PM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Leverett]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
syev Offline
KGB Paladin
syev  Offline
KGB Paladin
*****

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 473
PA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTpEoZYFLkw&feature=related

I don't like macs but I thought the vista pokes are starting to get funny.

The one vista commercial just had retards saying wow for like 2 minutes long. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aL3rfuKwMDI

The next Vista commercial should just go "WOW! WOW! wow?! WOW! TRASHCAN!" <display> Microsoft Logo.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwL0G9wK8j4&feature=related
...I think you should see this...but its just a link...

#24676 - 12/31/07 09:19 PM Re: Vista or XP [Re: syev]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 903
Valentein Offline
Former Member
Valentein  Offline
Former Member
***

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 903
I like that Linux vid. I use Ubuntu on my laptop. It's nice simple and free.

#24677 - 01/03/08 05:30 AM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Slinger]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 939
Daye Offline
KGB Supreme Knight
Daye  Offline
KGB Supreme Knight
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 939
League City, TX
" I heard that Vista will only recognize your system having 3 gigs of ram but it was just what Jet was telling me about. "

This is a limitation of a 32-bit operating system Elph
It's not solely limited to Vista, but rather to all 32 bit
systems. Once you cross over into the 64-bit your system
can see MUCH more than 3GB of Ram.

Personally, I will stay with XP for as long as it suits
me to do so. I'm not about to go out and purchase another
Microsoft operating system just so I can game on it. Not
a chance.

If / when XP dies, I will become a Linux kinda guy Since
I'm very, very familiar with both Sun and HP's flavors of
Unix ( work ) Linux will not be all that strange to me. I'm
just too damn lazy to build another system at the moment.

#24678 - 01/03/08 07:00 AM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Daye]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 903
Valentein Offline
Former Member
Valentein  Offline
Former Member
***

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 903
Maybe at some point VM-ware (not the company specifically) will get so good that you'll actually be able to run the OS of your choice and run windows based games on top.


When your King calls you to action, will you hear the call?


#24679 - 01/03/08 01:52 PM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Daye]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 609
Awastatyme Offline
KGB Knight
Awastatyme  Offline
KGB Knight
*****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 609
Texas
Well I am staying with XP. I have the cd and key and will be installing it on my new system when it comes in. So I did not have to buy an OS, which allowed me to get the 64 X2 5000+ processor. Like I had said, I was building this on a budget not to exceed 700$ and I build this one at 650$

#24680 - 01/03/08 07:01 PM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Awastatyme]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,915
Crimthan Offline
KGB Supreme Knight
Crimthan  Offline
KGB Supreme Knight
****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,915
Donk's gf's house
You're going to need more than 2gig of Ram to run AOC effectively and smoothly without the game looking like Pacman. 3gig isn't always easy to pull off, given the amount of slots it would take and odd numbers don't really work too well either when placing RAM.

I'm not advocating Vista, I still use XP. Just stating the truth about AOC's demand on a system.


[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
#24681 - 01/03/08 09:16 PM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Crimthan]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,537
Derid Offline
Chief Justice
KGB Supreme Court
Derid  Offline
Chief Justice
KGB Supreme Court

****

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,537

More than 2gig RAM? You sure? 2gig is a lot for just RAM, and
RAM usually doesnt have a ton of effect on visuals.

I think CPU/GFX card will be greater factors past 2gig, unless you know something I dont thats AoC specific.

BTW Grats Honda, excellent decision IMO, more hardware $$ and XP you already own is far greater value in my book than less hardware and $$ for POS Vista.

#24682 - 01/04/08 12:59 AM Re: Vista or XP [Re: Derid]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,915
Crimthan Offline
KGB Supreme Knight
Crimthan  Offline
KGB Supreme Knight
****

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,915
Donk's gf's house
GPU will be the prime factor, but 2 gigs of ram is Par these days, it's not the "ultimate" as was once believed.

For example, about a year ago, I had a similar system to my friend Dave. Only he had 2gig of ram and I had 1gig. The difference when playing BF2 was incredibly noticeable - and that was just a BF2, last gen. I really think people undermine the importance of ram and the demand the newer games are placing on System Resources.


[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Valaria 

Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 16 (0.006s) Memory: 3.1387 MB (Peak: 3.2485 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2018-06-22 20:32:51 UTC